In 1886, the Kyiv rabbi Zuckerman appealed to the Kyiv City Council to place a new Jewish cemetery next to the old one at Zvirynets. But, taking into account the fact that there was not enough space near the old Jewish cemetery, the City Council decided to select a site behind the Lukyanivsky district, near the area where the majority of Kyiv Jews lived.
Due to the lack of funds, the opening of a new Jewish cemetery was put off until 1894 when the Jewish community finally agreed to allocate the necessary sums to equip the cemetery in Lukyanivka. The project of the cemetery arrangement with all the necessary structures (of which there is only building of the former cemetery office preserved until now) was completed in 1892 and approved by the Kiev provincial government in 1893.
Before the Second World War, the Jewish cemetery occupied an area of about 25 hectares. During the occupation, the cemetery was subjected to considerable destruction; the Nazis used a significant part of the tombstones for the construction of stoves, where they burned dead bodies shot at Babyn Yar.
The cemetery was functioning even after the war until the end of the 1940's. However, according to the new General Plan of Kyiv made in 1946-1947 , a park area with a sports complex was planned to be set up in place of all Lukyanivka cemeteries, and the new roads were supposed to be laid out. Therefore, the City Council decided to close the cemetery and transfer the graves to the Kurenivka Jewish Cemetery. Ultimately, the Lukyanivka Jewish cemetery was liquidated in 1962. In the following decades a considerable part of the cemetery was built up, the tombstones were destroyed.
At the beginning of its existence, this large necropolis occupied an area of more than 25 hectares. There were buried tens of thousands of Jews. Among the various burials there was the family vault of the famous sugar-magnate Brodsky.
The leaders of Kyiv Zionists, Dr. Max Mandelstam, Ber Borokhov, a few Jewish righteous men - Tsadyky, the chief rabbi of Kiev, Weiblat Nukhim were buried here.
Since 1983 a new television center has been built on the territory of the Lukyanivka Jewish cemetery, and a sports complex has been set up on the site of the Karaite cemetery. From a huge number of graves there are only few graves left near the Menorah monument.
Now the premises on Melnikova str 44 was transferred to the National Historical and Memorial Preserve "Babyn Yar" to create a Memorial Museum of the victims of the tragedy of Babyn Yar.